Breaking the Silence
Johnny Coppin and Mike Silver
Faymus Recordings FRCD 0101
Mike and Johnny have been working together as a duo since 2005 and this is their debut album.
They share the main song writing credits and have jointly written three of the tracks.  Three other tracks are by different writers - ‘Dreamland’ (R Homsby), ‘The Sun's Coming over the Hill’, (Karine Polwart) and Robbie Robertson (‘Up On Cripple Creek‘).

The format is simple. Presumably Johnny leads on his songs and Mike on his.  They harmonise on choruses and instrumentally they both play guitars and Johnny of course adds piano.

The mood is mainly quiet and thoughtful. l particularly liked the opening song (about infidelity) - ‘The Wrong Side of Midnight’ and the close harmonies on ‘This Heart Sings’.
Three other tracks of note are Mike’s ‘Not a Matter of Pride’, Johnny's ‘Rydal’ and ‘Postcards from Cornwall’ (written by Johnny and Dave Bell).
Lyrics are provided on the insert.

Ivan North.
Orpington Folk Club
Orpington Folk Music & Song