Orpington Folk Club
CD Review
Home page

Fairport Convention

Over The Next Hill (MGCDO41)

The Fairport line up is Simon Nicol (guitar), Ric Sanders (violin), Dave Pegg (bass), Chris Leslie (violin and bouzouki) and Gerry Conway (drums). They are now recording on the Matty Grooves label. The lead singer duties are shared between Simon and Chris (who has also written some of the songs). Steve Tilston also gets writing credits and Ric Sanders contributes a couple of instrumental medleys. Never has there been so much variety in one of their CDs.
Maybe it's me, but I found the songs lacked immediacy and I was more drawn to the instrumentals and the re-interpretation of their old hit 'Si Tu Dois Partir' (Bob Dylan's classic).


Ivan North.

top home