Orpington Folk Club
CD Review
Home page

Dr Faustus

The first cut Fellside FECD177

Dr Faustus, Tim van Eyken, Robert Harbron, Benji Kirkpatrick and Paul Sartin, formed in 1998 to play 'English music well'. Of the II tracks, two are purely instrumental and the others are songs that feature their instrumentation (mainly melodeon, concertina fiddle and guitar) to good effect.
The songs are traditional, and include 'Newry Town, 'Salisbury Plain' and 'The Lincolnshire Poacher'. Confusingly (for me), 'Dr Faustus' is a children's song but E Fausters Tumblers' is a tune.

Ivan North.

top home