Orpington Folk Club
CD Review
Home page

Fairport Convention


This is released on their own Woodworm label to celebrate their 35th anniversary. The CD has 14 tracks with some new Chris Leslie songs. Another featured writer is Anna Ryder (but sadly only one Richard Thompson song).
Guests on the album include Ian Anderson, Chris While and Julie Matthews, Anna Ryder and Mark Tucker.
They have re-arranged and re-recorded some of their most requested items 'Now Be thankful', 'The Deserter', 'The Banks Of The Sweet Primroses' and Ric Sanders Instrumental 'Portmerion'.
It's a curious mixture of styles as an old folkie I prefer the trad tracks and 'The Happy Man' takes me back to the old folk rock /'Morris On' days. Strangely they reprise Anna Ryder's 'The Crowd'.


Ivan North.

top home